Hippy Dippy

15 Jun

So a week or so ago at work I asked if anyone would mind if I played my iPod instead of the scratchy pop 40 music coming out of the boom box on the window sill. Let me just mention the antenna for said radio is a screw driver… ’nuff said!

Most therapist were like yeah whatever. But one eyed me suspiciously and asked what exactly was I planning on playing and it wasn’t gonna be too weird was it? I was kind of surprised by her reaction.

Now I pride myself in an eclectic collection of music… a few outlier sort of artists, but mostly folk, alternative, classic rock and some relaxation music including classical music… nothing offensive or outrageous.

As the day was winding down and we were finishing up our computerized paperwork, I asked her what she had thought of the music. She answered it had been pretty good and not what she had expected. So I obviously asked what it was she had expected.

Her answer perplexed me to no end and I’ve been having fun with it ever since. “I though you were gonna play punk and metal and you know hippy dippy stuff”. I just looked at her and asked her what she meant by that. “Well, you know you’re a kind of hippy dippy sort.

I just stared at her in astonishment because frankly no one had ever mentioned such an impression of me before. REALLY, I said what gave THAT impression. Is it the incomplete tattoo from my most foolish of times in my 20’s? It was a homemade job my first love had convinced me would be cool.

However we had run out of whiskey before it was finished and well it never got finished. So if you don’t know what you’re looking at “WEEZA” doesn’t come jumping out at you.

I’ve kept it for a couple of reasons; to remind me not to listen to every idea someone else might think would be cool, to think carefully before making crazy decisions and it’s kind of an in with my tough guy/girl or Navy or Army cliental. Trust me it has opened more than a few doors to connection than you would think. It’s funny the false impressions people get of you in such limited exposure.

But anyway back to the hippy dippy comment… I know I do tend to ramble. I came of age more in the 1970’s rather than the 60’s. I’ve always thought I would have made a great hippy but I was a bit too young and besides was being guarded by the Nuns in the latter part of all “that”.

This last weekend home I managed to come across a tie-dye T-shirt of my wife’s (She’s certainly not likely to wear it since she’s not one for crazy colors and has always been 54 internally.)

Friday’s are wear our jeans day at work for 2 bucks towards the employee assistant fund. I’ve been doing that most Fridays because it’s a win-win sort of situation. Tomorrow promises to be a brighter day than most Fridays cause I’ll be damned if I’m going to be called a hippy without showing up as one… tie-dye t-shirt, homemade headband and all!

Just giving a fair warning to everyone. I might even play some of that “going to San Francisco” and a “Dog Named Boo” sort of music. Be Prepared

20120615-001446.jpg
Honestly, how hippy does that look? I’m wearing LL BEAN for crying out loud!

One Response to “Hippy Dippy”

  1. Elizabeth June 15, 2012 at 6:53 am #

    One, the first love was definitely NOT ME (Hi mom!). Two, I’m 53, not 54, dammit. Three, I love you!

Leave a Reply

