Not really alone!

1 May
Years ago in the mid 80’s I attended a WomenCircles in Rowe, Ma at at a UU (Unitarian Universalist) conference center.  At the Finding your Spirit Animal workshop I mentioned I thought mine was wolf.  One of the leaders said ” No, I think a coyote… You are too social and you’re a singer.
The more I thought about it, the more right it seemed.  After all they’re known as song dogs and when was the last time you heard the phrase “lone coyote”.  I’ve always felt more comfortable as part of a pack.
Living at my grandparents, boarding school, the National Guards and then college and a series of roommates it wasn’t til my late 20’s that I actually lived all by myself.  I was living far from  friends and family.  It was not good for me.  Then I discovered living with a cat or a dog fulfilled my need for pack and by then I had made some friends
Today made me think of those days… knocking about alone in a small room in a town where I don’t know anyone.  And I realized yet again I’m a coyote not a lone wolf.  Luckily modern technology in the form of my cell phone allowed me to reconnect with my pack.
Thanks to my conversations with my wife, my in-laws and my friends Darlene and Kate, I was able to ignore the guy in the Yankee’s cap making fun of my Red Sox jacket, the broken glass in the parking lot and the dude hanging out his second story window smoking and making rude comments at me.
That stuff would have really bothered me all those many years ago when I truly felt alone.  Now it doesn’t cause no matter how far away, I still know I’m part of a pack.
3 Responses to “Not really alone!”

  1. Elizabeth May 2, 2012 at 6:29 am #

    Oh honey… hang in there a few more days. We’re all here for you. 🙂

  2. Kate May 2, 2012 at 10:28 pm #

    We are here for you Weez. Thanks for being here for us. Kate

    • Kacy May 3, 2012 at 5:51 am #

      Sorry I missed your call. Things will improve!

Leave a Reply

