In the end a question.

19 Apr

A number of years ago I was in a situation where money was really tight. I had to find ways to cut costs. So I made sure to turn off lights, take quick showers, turn the heat way down and wear sweaters… my friends who came over to visit usually declined my offers to take their coats!

Another way was to cancel cable TV. A young friend at work was appalled. “What on earth are you going to do at night? How will you keep yourself entertained and keep up with the current TV shows?”.

Having grown up without cable I was a bit puzzled by her question. Well, I’ll probably write and play guitar more, hang out with friends more often, read the books I’ve been meaning to get to and play and hike with my dogs.

I could listen to my beloved Boston Red Sox on the radio as I did when I was a kid and still get mindless chores done. And if the antenna was positioned just right I could I could see the NE Patriots on TV with only a little bit of snowy reception. All in all I didn’t miss TV all that much.

My wife and I recently realized we were watching more old TV series for $7.99 per month streaming Netflix than actual cable TV for over $65.00 a month. It seemed like a no brainer. Not that we’re in that kind of financial situation at this time but sheesh why pay for what we don’t use.

Back in the 70’s I had a bumper sticker on my red Volkswagen bug that read “TV is a drug”. If I still had that bumper sticker I’d put it on my current car ’cause I still think it’s true.

To me it brings to mind the circuses of the Roman Empire as it was falling apart. Feed the masses cheap bread and entertainment and they won’t notice as it all falls apart around them.

You may be familiar with the saying of George Santayana “Those who do not remember the past are doomed to repeat it.” Sometimes it feels as though there are not enough of us who remember. What do you who read this think? Where does the road lead us from here? Are we as a society to be drugged into submission? Or do we take a different route than history suggests?

20120419-225654.jpg

5 Responses to “In the end a question.”

  1. On the road again !

  2. Elizabeth April 20, 2012 at 9:01 am #

    I think the very fact that you’re asking this question on a blog partly answers your question. The difference is that now we get to choose–do we take the drug of mainstream TV, or do we seek out different points of view by exploring the internet for blogs and other information. I know my choice.

  3. Kim April 22, 2012 at 9:15 am #

    Great blog… very insightful. I have to agree, I think TV has aided to th demise of the American family. Back in the day before TV, families had to entertain eachother, talk to each other, eat together, and play together, all after the work was done.

    • weezmccarty April 22, 2012 at 8:51 pm #

      Thanks Kim. Too true about some families being less close than in years past. Not completely true of course… but I think it does come down the choices of what is really important that each of us makes for ourselves and our families.
      Say Hi to everyone and I’ll try to call with an update this week 🙂

Leave a Reply

