It was a good day!

16 Apr

20120416-221353.jpg

20120416-221507.jpg

With the crazy weather over the last few months, scenes like this are common out close to the northeast coast where I’ve been working recently. Cripes, it’s only mid-April.

I started my day as usual this past week by taking Mr Frankie for his morning walk around 6 AM. As a history buff, I know full well what Patriots Day means to our Nation’s beginnings. In fact, Elizabeth and I have talked about spending a long weekend out here in Lexington so I can check out the re-enactments of the “shot heard ’round the world”.

As circumstances have it here I am in Lexington on this very day, only I’m out walking my dog when the first shots are fired a 1/2 mile or so away on the very town green where it all happened over 200 years ago. And I could hear the rat-tat-tat of the drums shortly thereafter. OK, I admit it I kind of got the chills. Frankie just perked his ears up. He’s not really big into history.

The good day continued with a fairly easy commute to work. It was the kind of morning where I counted my blessings on the ride north and felt everything slide into place. I do not take lightly the advantages, privileges and responsibilities of being born to an American Navy Dad. It is one of the reasons I joined ROTC and the Army National Guards in college.

It was that way at work as well as throughout the day I could feel my passion for my profession make a real difference for those who needed me. It was one of those days where it all seems to come together.

And it ended with a wonderful phone conversation with my wife about home, the dogs and cats, our growing chickens, our future, the love we have for each other and our life together. Yeah, it was a good day! Even our Top Cat, Nisha (below) thinks so.

20120416-231501.jpg

2 Responses to “It was a good day!”

  1. Elizabeth April 17, 2012 at 7:05 am #

    And when you were in the National Guards, weren’t you part of the unit that descended from the Minutemen in Lexington and Concord? 🙂

    • weezmccarty April 17, 2012 at 9:45 pm #

      All National Guard units are State militia and are a legacy of the Minutemen.

Leave a Reply

