Road Reflections and Metaphors

14 Apr

Well the first week of scary Rt 128 (the highway that circles around just outside Boston, Massachusetts) turned out to be not that scary.

20120414-153709.jpg
Luckily, I have to drive north in the morning and south in the evening. Looking at the traffic heading in the opposite direction is way scarier. Although I did get a taste of how it could be a couple of times this week.

Once when it rained a wee bit, the traffic slowed considerably and was even stop and go a little. I kept thinking really? What happens if it rains hard or heaven forbid snows? But hey what do I know, I’m just a country mouse a little out of her element!

And then last evening after work there was an accident complete with police and fire trucks arriving on the scene. There was the usual squeezing to the right to let the emergency vehicles pass and then to the left to pass the accident itself. At one point someone was either going too fast or rubbernecking too much and wacked into the back of a fire truck.

Good thing the cars involved in the accident were off the road. I could just imagine if they were in the middle of the highway how backed up and snarled the traffic could get. But I’m starting to feel like I’m getting a handle on the normal traffic patterns on my new daily commute.

20120414-202944.jpg
This our GPS Gertrude. Named by Maggie, my wife’s Grandmother when we visited her in Illinois. Maggie said she sounded like a Gertrude especially when she was “Recalculating” directions. My Mother-in-Law has leant me her GPS for the duration of my stay because as she puts it “I already know where I’m going around here”. I have named her GPS NotGertrude. This GPS is more up to date.

I used NotGertrude for most of this week instead of listening to a book on my iPod so I had plenty of time to think on my ride to and from work. I will be keeping NotGertrude in my car from now on since Friday evening after work was when the accident on the highway happened.

I was following a new friend from work someplace off the familiar road to grab a bite to eat. My friend had to call me to let me know where to get off because the traffic was so snarled up I couldn’t actually follow her.

So anyway time to think on my new commute. Here are some observations and metaphors during that free brain time.

Does anyone else think Water River a funny name for a river. I mentioned this to some one this week and they said “Well, it’s been rather dry lately is there actually water in the river?” I look every time I pass the sign and yup, there’s water in the river every time. Kind of a redundancy if you ask me. Out in Phoenix, Arizona there’s a Dry River and yeah, it’s usually dry. An oxymoron if you think about it.

Here are some of those highway observations as metaphors for life.

Don’t be timid about getting on the highway… stomp on the gas or they’ll never let you merge. Make sure you’re in the correct lane for making the right route connections. Stay in the middle lane as much as possible… it allows for changes as circumstances dictate. Sometimes you need to go fast and sometimes it’s more prudent to slow down.

And whatever you do, don’t get behind big trucks. They don’t allow you see see the signs of what’s coming up on the road ahead. As much as it’s safely possible (remember the car that plowed into the fire engine) allow cars to merge into the highway or lane. It’s good karma for when you need to merge. Just sayin’.

On the home front, Elizabeth and the dogs, cats and chicks seem to be doing well. They all seem to be missing me as much as I miss them. Well, all except the chickens since they don’t really know me yet.

It really is a good thing Frankie is out here with me. He’s been such a comfort for my doggie soul. A touch of home so to speak. And my wife is right… we would so have 4 rather than 3 dogs if he wasn’t here!

20120414-214731.jpg

One week down… 12 to go!

3 Responses to “Road Reflections and Metaphors”

  1. Kate April 15, 2012 at 7:50 pm #

    Hang in there Weez

  2. Elizabeth April 16, 2012 at 7:25 am #

    We miss you lots, too. I’ll have to post pics of the chickens today–they’re getting so big!

Leave a Reply

