A country mouse near the big city!

9 Apr

Well I survived the first day of my 3 month adventure. The drive in and back was easier than expected in my trusty steed er I mean my car.

But because “The Wizard of Oz” is my all time favorite movie, I just had to say to Frankie when I got back…

20120409-210034.jpg

“Toto, we’re not in Kansas anymore!” Corny, I know but Frankie and I cracked up anyway.

Got a quick tour of the facility and the computerized paperwork and jumped right into it. Luckily, I’ve been working with these types of patients in this type of environment for a long time. That was the easy part.

The hard part was finding the patients. The nursing home has been going through a lot of changes recently and there’s been a bit of room and unit movement of patients. Quite comical at times.

Sometimes the CNA’s knew where they were, sometimes it was the nurses and sometimes it was other patients. And sometimes I’d wander into a dining room or other gathering place and sing out, will so and so raise your hand! I did manage to find everyone eventually.

The staff (especially the rehab) seem nice and were open to helping a lost PTA on her first day. Absolutely this will be an adventure but a good one I think. I’m looking forward to being a bigger part of the team as I find my way around.

Got an update on our chicks and they are healthy and growing. Thanks to my wife Elizabeth, the home fires are glowing brightly.

20120409-220947.jpg

I’ll try to check in again tomorrow. Also, thanks so much for all of you who keep checking in and liking what I’m writing. I appreciate the support!

2 Responses to “A country mouse near the big city!”

  1. Elizabeth April 10, 2012 at 5:36 am #

    Right now I wish the home fire was burning brightly… It’s cold in here! Miss you, honey

  2. Debbie April 10, 2012 at 8:17 am #

    Looking forward to seeing you while you are in my neighborhood! Thinking about you all the time as you commute up 128!

Leave a Reply

