Teddy Bear

14 Mar
Wow, it’s been a longer than usual day.  I got a call late yesterday afternoon to ask if I could work today.  Trust me folks, I am very happy to get a call to work my physical therapy profession.  I love doing work that means making a difference in individual lives and Hallelujah actually getting paid for it as well.  It turned out to be more hours than any of us expected.  It was Date Night as well.  And as I’ve stated, a longer day than usual.

I’m tired and it feels like it’s close to bedtime.  So I’ll leave you all with something I wrote years ago but feels appropriate tonight.

Teddy Bear… an adult lullabuy   Weez  July 1976

Teddy Bear oh Teddy bear
bring me some comfort as only
you can.  I know the the days
of my childhood have long past.
But I’m tired and I’m hurt
So Teddy Bear do what you can.

I feel that the world is unkind
though sticks and stones
may not hurt my body
there’s no telling
what they do to my mind

I have the feeling that I am lost
drifting in the swirls of time
Lovers point out directions
but what of the cost

I am ready for deep, deep sleep
shedding my troubles
for morning light
and pray for my soul to keep

So Teddy bear oh Teddy bear
bring me some comfort as only
you can.  I know that the days
of my childhood have long past
but I’m tired and I’m hurt
so Teddy bear do what you can

Leave a Reply

