Chasing the heavens

26 Feb

The Westering Moon

The post it note on the back door reminded me in time to sniff… good thing.  The dogs’ll have to wait for morning and daylight for their next trip outdoors.  Luckily, they don’t have opposable thumbs to allow door knob use.  There will be no naked showering of dogs this night.
I went out alone instead and watched the moon chase Venus towards the western horizon.  It’s a perfect view from our back porch through the trees.  Someday I’ll have a good enough camera to see the nightly heavens the way I do.  But until then I will just have to brace myself against a safe and sturdy surface and catch what sights I can.  Sort of like like life I guess!
3 Responses to “Chasing the heavens”

  1. Elizabeth February 27, 2012 at 9:44 am #

    Thank goodness! Being woken up to help wash skunky dogs is just as bad as being woken up to go see an eight-inch slug in the backyard! I appreciate your letting me sleep through. 🙂

    • weezmccarty February 27, 2012 at 12:10 pm #

      I’m never gonna live that one down, am I?

      • Elizabeth February 27, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

        Nope. 🙂

Leave a Reply

