We all walk the same skies.

23 Feb

Dawn Moon from the Kitchen Window

Like most of you (unless you’re agoraphobic or a hermit) I’ve met a great many people during my life’s journey.  I’ve attended 8 different schools, spent time in the army and lived in many places.  At one point my step-mother had two whole pages in her phone and address book just for me and my wanderings.  It seems strange to have been at one abode for almost 15 years.

Illinois Sunset

And over the years I’ve wondered about some of those people I’ve lost contact with.  What manner of joys and sorrows, loves and losses did I miss as they went on to live out their own life journeys.

New Mexico Blue

To those who were once so important to me but are no longer part of my present life, rest assured I think of you often.  And in the words of that famous Vulcan, Mr. Spock… Live long and Prosper!

Finnish Dusk

I wrote and sing the song below in your memories.

THE SAME SKIES      WEEZ   MAY 2001

Pink paints the same sky
birds fly the same sky
that you and I stand beneath
who makes you laugh
and what makes you cry
do you still feed your dreams
or have you sold your soul

Clouds frame the same sky
sun flames the same sky
where you and I lie apart
have you any children
do they look like you
and do they play and dance
like we used to do

Winds sweep the same sky
rain weeps the same sky
that you and I hide beneath
what does your heart want to say
and who do you teach
where do you sleep at night
and who holds you tight

Trees grace the same sky
earth binds the same sky
where you and I step apart
do you still walk mountain paths
or is it city streets
where you live your life
and is your heart at peace

Ocean meets the same sky
stars greet the same sky
that you and I love apart
how I miss you
old friends of mine
do you still think of me
from time to time
like I do you sometimes

‘Cause love paints the same sky
oh, love paints the same sky
yes, love paints the same sky
that you and I
where you and I love
and live a part
we live apart

Night Rising at MJA

8 Responses to “We all walk the same skies.”

  1. Elizabeth February 23, 2012 at 1:18 pm #

    Every time I read this song it says more to me. Lovely.

  2. Carol February 23, 2012 at 8:35 pm #

    Love the blog Weez. Mostly, love the pics of the “kids”.

    • weezmccarty February 23, 2012 at 8:44 pm #

      Yeah, how lucky am I? An ordinary looking mid-fifties woman with a gorgeous and exceptional wife, 3 dogs and 2 cats. Go figure… I must have been an exceptional dog in a former life!

      • Elizabeth February 24, 2012 at 10:04 am #

        You’re an exceptional dog in this life, too! Love you, honey… 🙂

  3. Sarah Miller February 23, 2012 at 8:56 pm #

    Awesome Weez just awesome

    • weezmccarty February 23, 2012 at 9:01 pm #

      All I can say Sarah… it takes one to know one. Thanks

  4. Darlene February 23, 2012 at 11:07 pm #

    Hey Weez. Just read your blog for the first time–I love it! It’s just like you: warm, funny, artsy, goofy, smart, soulful….I look forward to reading more ~

    • weezmccarty February 23, 2012 at 11:36 pm #

      Hi Darlene, Makes me very happy that so many folks I really care about are reading this. Love to you and my/your boys. Send it on to my artsy, talented nephews. I keep track of them and their endeavors through FB as best as I can. Thanks and keep reading cause you never know what’s coming next!

Leave a Reply

